Stations of the Cross 
Way of the Cross 
Via dolorosa
Jesus towards Calvary

The Passion and death of Jesus Christ Our Lord was the greatest expression of his love for us, since it is by his suffering and death that he saved us from the slavery of sin, and by his resurrection that he confirmed the promise of our own own resurrection. 

According to tradition, after the Jesus died, Our Lady used to visit those places where Our Lord shed his blood (the way of the cross, or via dolorosa which means dolorous way¨), She meditated on his suffering for us. Then some other faithful followers of Jesus did the same. This became a tradition that has evolved through time and has become a very powerful devotion to the Passion and death our Our Lord. 

For centuries People would go in pilgrimage to visit the holy places to follow the footsteps of Jesus, making all the stations on the way of the cross. As time went by, Christianity spread throughout the world and Christians desiring to honor Our Lord with this devotion but being unable to make the pilgrimage to Jerusalem started creating these stations in wood, metal, paper or stone, nowadays they are displayed in almost every Catholic Church and in Catholic Shrines.

By the authority of the Church there are 14 Stations of the cross plus the new optional one of the resurrection:

Stations of the Cross, Way of the Cross, Via dolorosa, Jesus towards Calvary  Stations of the Cross
 1  Jesus is condemned to death
 2  Jesus carries the cross
 3  Jesus falls for the first time
 4  Jesus meets His Blessed Mother
 5  Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus to carry the cross
 6  Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
 7  Jesus falls for the second time
 8  Jesus meets the holy women of Jerusalem
 9  Jesus falls for the third time
10  Jesus is stripped of His garments
11  The crucifixion
12  Jesus dies on the cross
13  The body of Jesus is taken down from the cross
14  Jesus is laid in the tomb
15  (Additional station) The resurrection. 

The Church encourages the faithful to practice this devotion, and has granted a plenary indulgence to those who piously exercise the way of the cross, preferably when it is done in a Church or any place where the stations have been placed with Church approval. ("Enchiridion of Indulgences," No. 63). 

The conditions are to walk from station to station while meditating the sufferings of Our Lord. Those who cannot do it in such manner may still gain a plenary indulgence by meditating on the Passion and sufferings of Our Lord for at least half hour.
Stations of the Cross, Way of the Cross, Via dolorosa - Jesus towards Calvary - Start



Stations of the Cross, Way of the cross - Message of Our Lady - Maria of Agreda

Prayers of Saint Bridget about the Passion of Our Lord

Seven dolors of Our Lady

Prayer to Jesus crucified

Father forgive them


Stations of the Cross, Viacrucis, Way of the cross. Via dolorosa indulgences

Meditations on the Passion of Christ (Luisa Picarreta)  Stations of the Cross, Way of the Cross, Via dolorosa

Last seven words of Jesus on the cross


The Work of God

Stations of the cross - Way of cross - Via dolorosa - Jesus towards Calvary